wednesday october 20 2024

happy birthday pretty hate machine!

today one of my favorite albums of all time turns 35. as a celebration i'm going to review every song on it. note i'm not a music critic and idk what i'm talking about.

  • head like a hole: absolute banger. great way to start off the album. not my favorite track but it's up there.
  • terrible lie: my favorite track from this album and probably my all-time favorite nin song. the lyrics are phenomenal- i've seen some people interpret them as being about rejecting religion but i don't get that. to me the song is about the feeling of being betrayed by a lover, and the "hey god" lines are more about blaming god for his bad luck. the ending goes so hard.
  • down in it: not bad, but not my favorite. the white boy rapping is more amusing than compelling.
  • sanctified: LOVE the slap bass in this one. some people call the lyrics cringy but i like them, some of them hit hard. also cum inside lol.
  • something i can never have: absolutely gutwrenching. a masterpiece of a song. great to belt when you're home alone and sad.
  • kinda i want to: pretty good! i like the subject matter; to me this song is about addiction. #relatable
  • sin: banger!! definitely my second favorite song on this album, but sometimes i evel=n like it a little more than terrible lie. i can sing this one pretty well, it fits nicely within my range. i'm also obsessed with the mtv music video with the two dudes making out and one of them is wearing a strap.
  • that's what i get: i'm not gonna lie i'm not a huge fan of this song. the instrumentals are good but the lyrics are kinda cringe to me. "now i'm slipping on the tears you made me cry" ok man.
  • the only time: good but not great. i like the devil fucking in the back of his car line but the song in general doesn't really impress me.
  • ringfinger: pretty good! starts off just ok but i really like the breakdown at the end. good way to finish off the album.